Dove Step 3 – Day 6

Daily distance: 44.2km / 27.5mi

Duration: 09.45hrs

Weather: 14 degrees, sunny spells giving way to cloud then rain, 4 mph south easterlies

Dove Step 3 bird list: 90 species

Best birds: Ring-necked Parakeet, House Martin, Azure-winged Magpie

Cumulative Dove Step 3 distance: 163miles

Hard day of it after yesterday’s big miles and time on feet. Also, getting used to moving solo. Fortunately there is a variety of domestic animals and birds to speak to. Non of which really match Rob for conversation – except one dog which just pipped him. 


With the changing weather and landscape – from cityscape to super remote countryside – it felt like a day of three thirds! Seville merged into Camas then Santiponce before extensive countryside to Guillena then the super remote after that! Indeed I saw no-one but cows, Azure-winged Magpies and Woodlark till I popped out on the road to Castilblanco. 
I did love the remoteness, although towards the end with both my iPhone and power pack flat, plus out of water I did feel somewhat panicked and I am ashamed to say a little emotional. Fortunately a hotelier let me charge my phone and as it happened I was only 1km from Sven and Rob, support vehicle and pre-arranged rendez-vous.
Lesson learnt; both battery pack and iPhone are on charge and I will be more mindful of water going forward. 
I’ll leave you with a killer view looking over Camas and back towards Seville.

Good night Dove Steppers.

One thought on “Dove Step 3 – Day 6

Leave a Reply

