Dove Step 3 – Day 17

Daily distance: 48.7km / 30.3mi 

Duration: 9.41hrs

Weather: 16 degrees, blue skies, 7 mph north easterlies

Dove Step 3 bird list: 103 species

Best birds: Nuthatch, Azure-winged Magpies. 

Cumulative Dove Step 3 distance: 459.1 miles

Started off the day with a hard ground frost, frozen puddles and a cold breeze. The dawn was absolutely stunning. 


Really put myself to task today. Didn’t have a substantive break until I’d done marathon distance – just focused on getting the miles done efficiently. 

When the going gets tough, as it inevitably does over terrain and on 30 mile days, I have motivational techniques. I use highly emotionally charged thoughts to keep me going. Typically; loved ones, family and the JustGiving total. This is highly effective but comes with a down-side. I am then thinking about people I miss and the weighty reasons for which I am doing this. A species in free-fall decline and facing extinction, certainly in the U.K. and to a lesser extent at European level. 
Using these motivatiors is highly effective. It does, however, have a the effect of emotionally draining me – above and beyond the pyscial. That’s where I am tonight. Spent. Absolutely spent. 
Lighter miles for the next couple of days and with more mild terrain as such I won’t need to utilize this technique. I hope this doesn’t appear too outwardly emotional or soft – I thought it might be of interest to some. 
Now; rest.  

2 thoughts on “Dove Step 3 – Day 17

  1. I think walking long distances alone is bound to have a meditative quality to it, with enforced introspection. Par for the course. Just keep focussing on the daily goals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

