Dove Step 3 – Day 21

Daily distance: 41.8km / 26mi 

Duration: 08:17hrs

Weather: 17 degrees, blue skies, 2 mph southerlies 

Dove Step 3 bird list: 104 species

Best birds: Tree Sparrow 

Cumulative Dove Step 3 distance: 559.1 miles

Much improved day today. After a solid beating yesterday and feeling particularly unpleasant I maximised overnight food and rest. To really good effect – my legs were much freer and the soreness greatly reduced. In addition Mal has loaned me a long-sleeved base layer which I wore this morning. This really helped with the cold and I kept far more comfortable during the hours it took to warm up. The day started at -1 with a hard ground frost and peaked at +17 degrees with blazing sunshine! So I was back down to t-shirt by the end of it.

Rolling terrain today and very varied – from pleasant enough countryside to the uber-urban! 


Part way through tomorrow I will leave the route of the Via de la Plata and take up the pre-planned route to Leon and then Gijón beyond. Although I have hopped on and off the last few days – the Via de la Plata has been a near constant since Seville. I will miss the now familiar yellow arrows and markings… 


So, solid days effort and with a reminder of what’s to come; snow-capped mountains lined the horizon to the west and north. 
Dove Step 3 JustGiving

Leave a Reply

